AHRC Leadership Fellows Conference

I’m just back from several days of rushing up and down the country for professional development events!

I was in Sheffield for the Arts and Humanities Research Council Leadership Fellows Conference on 26th November. As one of the researchers funded through the prestigious new Leadership Fellowships scheme, this was a valuable chance for me to discuss my research project and public engagement activities with my peers, senior colleagues and with representatives of the funding council.

I discovered lots of other fantastic research projects, and two which really struck a chord with my own research interests were Rebecca Braun’s AHRC project  ‘The Author and the World’ and Nicola Frith’s work on Mapping Memories of Slavery: Commemoration, Community and Identity.

In addition, I gave an invited presentation ‘Advice on Applying for ERC Funding’ at the AHRC Peer Review College members and Early Career Researchers Event for Languages and Linguistics researchers at the University of Warwick on 28th November, where I was fascinated to speak with Charles Burdett about the AHRC ‘Transnationalizing Modern Languages’ project . Find out more about the project goals and team at their website.

I also took part in a third AHRC event here at the University of Birmingham on 19th November. The AHRC Tenth Anniversary Consultation Day, “Crowd Sourcing the Anniversary” was led by my colleague Dr Richard Clay, AHRC Commons Fellow, and brought together Early Career Researchers from all AHRC-funded disciplines for lively debate and a planning session for future AHRC events with the general public.

These events are a far cry from sitting in a library with my primary texts – but they are essential for helping me shape my  work and think about its development and delivery. Rather than being a “lone scholar”, it’s also really important to remember our work is part of a larger community of researchers and has the potential to reach wider public audiences.

This week, it’s back to the books though…!

